fmipaFaculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Hasanuddin University was officially established on August 17, 1963. It was called the Faculty of Mathematics and Sciences (FIPPA) and consisted of four departments, namely: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. As a passage of time, FIPPA established another department, namely Pharmacy so that the faculty consisted of five departments. In 1977, FIPPA was fused with the Faculty of Engineering and named Faculty of Science and Technology. Six years later, i.e., in 1983, the faculty was splitted into two, in which the field of Science became the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (MIPA) while the technology field returned to the former faculty, i.e., the Faculty of Engineering. With the promotion of Pharmacy Department to be a faculty in the year 2005, Faculty of Science then consisted of four departments, got back to the earlier condition. Faculty of Science until today has instituted more than 6000 alumnae.

The Faculty is responsible for developing the fundamental natural sciences which is pivotal for the development of science and technology. That is why the Faculty has the vision to be the center of excellent for the development of Higher Education in the field of Natural Sciences and mathematics in order to support the development of technology for human prosperity.